Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is comprised of the Project Director, representatives of nonacademic institutions partnered on the project, and an academic representative. Its responsibilities include: (1) overseeing the budget; (2) helping to organize project meetings; (3) approving objectives and progress milestones; (4) overseeing the training of students and postdoctoral fellows; (5) assisting publicity and outreach.

Sherri Kajiwara

Executive Committee
Sherri Kajiwara is currently the Director|Curator of the Nikkei National Museum and has been a fine arts professional since 1992. Her association with the Nikkei National Museum & Cultural Centre began in 2010 when she was Acting Executive Director for 13 months. In 2012 she guest curated the Yo-In exhibit at the Nikkei National … Read More >>

Audrey Kobayashi

Executive Committee Audrey Kobayashi has a long history of research on the Japanese Canadians and in addition to her participation in Landscapes of Injustice, she is also involved in the “Right To Remain” project that includes a number of university researchers and graduate students in partnership with community advocacy organizations… Read More >>

Leah Best

Executive Committee  Leah Best comes to Victoria via Nelson, BC, where she spent the last ten years as executive director of Touchstones Nelson: Museum of Art and History. Previously she worked at the Vancouver Art Gallery for several years as an assistant curator. Leah has a Master’s Degree in Art History from the University of Toronto and completed her Read More >>




Nicholas Blomley

Executive Committee  Nicholas Blomley provides intellectual leadership in the theorization and analysis of property in all clusters, particularly with respect to qualitative sources. Blomley is author of four books and dozens of articles and book chapters, including Unsettling the City: Urban Land and the Politics of Property, which focuses on the Downtown Eastside, Read More >>