Steering Committee

The Steering Committees for each phase are comprised of the chairs of the clusters, who establish goals and supervise students and postdoctoral fellows within a specialized area of research or knowledge mobilization. Steering Committee (SC) members are also responsible for designing, implementing, and overseeing activity in their cluster; managing, with the Project Director, funds within the cluster; setting, with the Executive Committee, semiannual and annual milestones for progress; reporting, semiannually, toward milestones; meeting annually in-person with the team to present results to date, participate in student training, and coordinate project activity; and presenting, together with students and postdoctoral fellows, research findings. Note: The SC also includes “at large” members who play vital roles in this project but are not responsible for leading a cluster. These members are co-applicants on the grant, attend committee meetings, vote on key issues, and contribute to project activities. The SC members are:

Jordan Stanger-Ross

Land Title & Government Records Cluster Chair Jordan Stanger-Ross is associate professor of history at the University of Victoria. He was the founding chair of UVIC’s Committee for Urban Studies, which initiated the interdisciplinary lecture series, The City Talks. He is Chair of the Canadian Committee on Migration, Ethnicity, and Transnationalism, which is… Read More >>

Leah Best

Leah Best comes to Victoria via Nelson, BC, where she spent the last ten years as executive director of Touchstones Nelson: Museum of Art and History. Previously she worked at the Vancouver Art Gallery for several years as an assistant curator. Leah has a Master’s Degree in Art History from the University of Toronto and completed her undergraduate degree at the University of Victoria. Most recently, Leah… Read More >>

Pamela Sugiman

Oral History Cluster Chair Pamela Sugiman brings considerable research and administrative expertise to this project. Her extensive oral historical research on gender and race includes an SSHRC Standard Research Grant on Japanese-Canadian internment. On the basis of this grant, she published eight scholarly articles and chapters, … Read More >>

Sherri Kajiwara

Community Records & Directories Cluster Co-chair Sherri Kajiwara is currently the Director|Curator of the Nikkei National Museum and has been a fine arts professional since 1992. Her association with the Nikkei National Museum & Cultural Centre began in 2010 when she was Acting Executive Director for 13 months. In 2012 she guest curated the Yo-In exhibit… Read More >>

Stewart Arneil

Community Records & Directories Cluster Co-chair Stewart Arneil oversees the development of a digital database to store and integrate community records and chairs our Archival Website and Community Records and Directories clusters. He is the Head of Research and Development at the Humanities Computing and Media Centre at UVIC… Read More >>

Reuben Rose-Redwood

Historical GIS Cluster Chair Reuben Rose-Redwood chairs the Historical GIS cluster. His research in urban historical GIS involved digitally reconstructing a model of New York City’s historical topography. He has published in leading geographic journals, including the Geographical Review and The Professional Geographer… Read More >>

Eric Adams

Legal History Cluster Chair A member of the University of Alberta, Faculty of Law, Eric Adams chairs the Legal History cluster. A Canadian constitutional historian specializing in the history of rights and an award-winning teacher and scholar, Adams has published in Canada’s leading law journals. His work has been cited by the Supreme Court of Canada… Read More >>

Greg Miyanaga

Teacher Resources Cluster Co-chair Greg Miyanaga co-chairs the Teacher Resources cluster with Mike Whittingham. Greg has taught in the Coquitlam School District for over 25 years, grades 2-7, and served as a district resource teacher. Landscapes of Injustice is a pet project for Greg as his father’s family was… Read More >>

Mike Perry-Whittingham

Teacher Resources Cluster Co-chair Mike Whittingham co-chairs the Teacher Resources cluster with Greg Miyanaga. Mike, currently a secondary school adminstrator in the Richmond School District, taught high school history, law and social studies for 17 years in Richmond… Read More >>

Brian Owen

Steering Committee Member at large Brian Owen, Associate University Librarian, SFU, chairs the Public History Website cluster. Owen brings significant administrative experience to the Steering Committee, in accordance with the suggestion of the SSHRC committee… Read More >>

Nicholas Blomley

Steering Committee Member at large Nicholas Blomley provides intellectual leadership in the theorization and analysis of property in all clusters, particularly with respect to qualitative sources. Blomley is author of four books and dozens of articles and book chapters… Read More >>

Steve Schwinghamer

Steering Committee Member at large Steve Schwinghamer coordinates the participation in this project of the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 (CMIP). He has been an Historian with CMIP for more than 10 years, providing research support for exhibitions and projects related to the history of Canadian immigration, and co-creating more than 100 oral histories… Read More >>